The Council is the legislative authority and governing body of the City of Potterville. The Council exercises all power conferred upon or possessed by the City by adoption of laws, ordinances, and resolutions, except as limited by the City Charter or state law (City Charter, Section 3.1).

There are seven council members who are elected by the voters. The Mayor is elected amongst its members along with the Deputy Mayor. The mayor shall preside at all meetings of the council, shall be recognized as head of the City government for all ceremonial purposes but has no administrative duties. The Deputy Mayor acts in the Mayor’s absence. The council is responsible for appointing the City Manager and City Clerk.


      • 7:00 pm
      • Third Thursday of each month
      • Council Chambers of the Municipal Complex at 319 N. Nelson